We become better leaders, create more effective teams, and build better relationships and have better communication by first becoming aware of our own emotional intelligence skills as measured by the EQ-i 2.0 and/or the EQ 360.

[EQ] assessment: how we measure emotional intelligence

Assessment of your emotional quotient, or [EQ], is not an end in itself. It’s a means to an end. The [EQ-i] gives you information about your [EQ] competencies so you can best decide your next steps to becoming a more effective leader, a stronger team player.

Get an emotional intelligence assessment

Fifteen emotional competencies

Emotional intelligence is part nature and part nurture. We can’t change our genetic make-up, however, we can become aware of what we’ve learned and we can choose to learn to do better. When we turn our attention to these 15 ‘EQ’ competencies, we can make better decisions, communicate with greater clarity, increase our capacity to cope with stress and build stronger, more connected relationships.

Take the EQ-i 2.0

assess, predict, perfectAssess, predict, perform

So measurement of your [EQ] is the first step. But how can emotional intelligence be measured? Is it reliable? Does it have predictive value? Is it scientific? These are the kinds of questions that, over two decades, have led us to recommend using the [EQ-i], a Level B Psychometric assessment based on the research of Dr. Reuven Bar-On, published by Multi-Health Systems Inc, or [MHS]. It is one of the most reliable, valid and highly researched EQ assessment tools [pdf link]. Because it is a Level B Psychometric, this means that the [EQ-i] can only be given by a certified administrator.

The [EQ-i] model of emotional intelligence is based on fifteen competencies grouped into five composites: Self-Perception, Self-Expression, Interpersonal, Decision Making and Stress Management. The fifteen competencies, taken together, provide a total [EQ]. The [EQ-i] report also provides some initial interpretation of the fifteen competencies. A one-to-one debrief is always included with an [EQ-i] assessment, as results need to be interpreted by a certified administrator.

The fifteen competencies in the [EQ-i] act as building blocks for developing competencies. To do this, each subscale must measure different skills. For example, your ability to have strong interpersonal skills is different than your capacity to be intelligently aware of yourself. So, these capacities need to be measured separately. Further, your ability to be intelligently aware of yourself, or self-perception, can be further analyzed into its component parts: self-regard, self-actualization, and emotional self-awareness. When we have a refined set of competencies, that relate to each other but measure different skills, we can build development plans that produce real change.

In addition to the fifteen competencies and the five composites, the [EQ-i] report provides a total [EQ] inventory and a well-being indicator, providing information about the big picture of someone’s life.

The model

model for eq-i 2.0

Report features

  • total [EQ]
  • five composite scales
  • fifteen competencies, or subscales
  • well-being indicator
  • interpretation and elaboration of the potential meanings and impacts of these measures

Assessment for [EQ] takes place in two ways

[EQ-i]: self assessment

The [EQ-i] is a self-report tool. It’s a series of questions that can be responded to in about twenty minutes.

Find out more about the [EQ-i]

[EQ-360]: multi-rater assessment

The Multi-Rater Assessment or 360 degree Assessment combines your personal assessment, based on your personal perceptions, with the perceptions of others who know you well. It requires both you and others to fill out an assessment.

Find out more about the [EQ-360]

Comments are closed.